Childhood favourites: A Series of Unfortunate Events

When I found out the Netflix adaptation of A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket was coming out on the 13th of January about a week ago, I immediately searched online for the books. I’d read them all before, but didn’t own them yet, and I wanted to reread them before the series came out. That didn’t work out, but I did order a beautiful boxset that I’d like to show you guys.

TheΒ Complete Wreck

I ordered this boxset thinking the books were paperbacks, but to my surprise they’re all hardbacks! Plus, they have deckled edges, which I love.

A Series of Unfortunate Events was one of my favourite series as a child and I’m very excited to relive it. I got the first three books for my ninth or tenth birthday,Β then bought the second three (those were both bound with three books in one) as soon as I found them. I borrowed all the other books from the library, except the last one, which I bought – for the first time in English. Now I’ve finally got the whole series in English so I can reread it.

Lemony Snicket’s books are riddled with foreshadowing, some of it obvious, and some of it less so. After rereading The Bad Beginning this afternoon I can definitely tell you these books hold up on a reread (or several). And let’s not forget about the numerous literary allusions and the illustrations by Brett Helquist!

Now I can’t wait to continue reading these books and watching the series. I think I’ll be watching the series first, as I also have studying to do, and reading for two or more hours before watching two episodes takes up a little too much time. I’ll have time to read the rest of the books while we’re waiting for the rest of the series to be made…

Let me know if you’re also watching the Netflix series! Be careful not to spoil it for anyone though. After watching the first two episodes I already have some thoughts on how it compares to the books, but I’m going to wait until I’ve finished the entire first season before I say any of them out loud. I don’t want to judge too soon! So far I’m really happy with how it’s turned out.

4 thoughts on “Childhood favourites: A Series of Unfortunate Events

Leave a Reply

