Top 10 songs to listen to while reading

… or writing, studying, blogging, cleaning, staring out the window on public transport, etc.

A while ago I was tagged on instagram to post my #toptenfavoritesongs and I thought it would be nice to post them on my blog with some lyrics and links to the songs. Since it’s much too hard to choose ten favourites, I decided to pick ten songs I’ve enjoyed listening to recently – which means I didn’t skip them while I was listening to music while studying or relaxing from all the studying. Songs you can play in the background that give you some energy or calm you down (so the Ramones unfortunately didn’t make it on this list). Of course I can’t guarantee they’ll have the same effect on everyone, but I hope you’ll find something you like. All of these songs come from great albums too, so I recommend listening to the whole album if you like the song!

(I copied the genres off wikipedia because I don’t know anything about that myself. Seriously. I didn’t know so many of these albums were the same genre until I googled them.)

fullsizeoutput_3cc

1. River Styx, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club

But I can’t run if I can’t walk
And I won’t love if I can’t stop
Every minute the pressure drops
From your first breath ’til your heart stops

Album: Beat the Devil’s Tattoo.

Genre: alternative rock, garage rock, post-punk revival, noise rock.

Click to listen on Spotify.

2. The Goldheart Mountaintop Queen Directory, Guided by Voices

she runs through the night as if nobody cares
she screams and she cries and ignores all the stares
she wants me to come, but i’m never going there

the goldheart mountaintop queen directory
the goldheart mountaintop queen directory

Album: Bee Thousand.

Genre: noise pop, psychedelic rock, indie rock.

Click to listen on Spotify.

3. My Head Explodes, Ty Segall

My head explodes
My head explodes
Like the water, like the skin exposed
My head explodes

Album: Goodbye Bread.

Genre: Indie rock, garage rock, psychedelic rock, folk rock, lo-fi.

Click to listen on Youtube.

4. The King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 1, Neutral Milk Hotel

When you were young
You were the king of carrot flowers
And how you built a tower tumbling through the trees
In holy rattlesnakes that fell all around your feet

Album: In the Aeroplane over the Sea.

Genre: indie rock, psychedelic folk, lo-fi.

Click to listen on Spotify.

5. Psalms 40:2, The Mountain Goats

Head down for Kansas, we will get there when we get there, don’t you worry
Feel bad about the things we do along the way, but not really that bad
We inhaled the frozen air
Lord, send me a mechanic if I’m not beyond repair

Album: The Life of the World to Come.

Genre: folk rock, indie rock.

Click to listen on Spotify.

 

 

6. Merry, Magnapop

img_5039

Space and time creep across the line
And try to slow down the fires where the fires hide
But it hits the spot when it gets too hot
And it costs too much if it costs a lot

Album: Magnapop.

Genre: pop punk, pop rock, power pop.

Click to listen on Spotify.

7. Off You, The Breeders

I am the autumn in the scarlet
I am the make-up on your eyes

Album: Title TK.

Genre: alternative rock.

Click to listen on Spotify.

8. Blood Makes Noise, Suzanne Vega

Cause blood makes noise
It’s a ringing in my ear
Blood makes noise
And I can’t really hear you
In the thickening of fear

Album: 99.9 F.

Genre: rock, industrial.

Click to listen on Spotify.

9. My Beloved Monster, Eels

She will always be the only thing
That comes between me and the awful sting
That comes from living in a world that’s so damn mean

img_7573

Album: Beautiful Freak.

Genre: alternative rock.

Click here to listen on Spotify.

 

10. ‘Cello Song, Nick Drake

Strange face
With your eyes
So pale and sincere
Underneath you know well
You have nothing to fear

Album: Five Leaves Left.

Genre: folk.

 

Leave a Reply

