2017 Reading Challenges

Is February too late to post about reading challenges? Maybe. But it’s not too late to start, and if you’ve been having trouble picking your next book, or you’ve decided a little late that you would like to challenge yourself this year, maybe this post will help you!

dc049a522d84b84f_ps16_jp_living_2017readingchallenge_list_r2Popsugar

The first challenge I decided on joining this year is the 2017 Reading Challenge by Popsugar. My friend sent me this picture because she was doing the challenge and I decided to join her. There are 40 books on this list, with another 12 in the ‘advanced’ category, which makes 52 books – or one a week. If you’re only starting now, you might have already read some books that can fit in the challenge prompts. Or if you don’t think you can read this many books in one year, you can always combine a few prompts. I’ve decided to pick a different book for each prompt, but everyone can make their own rules!

Read your shelf

I’m not talking about a specific challenge here, though I think there are several like this to be found on the internet. The idea is to read as many books from your own shelves as possible. If you keep buying new books even though you own way too many unread books already, this might be a good challenge for you! While looking for books to read for the Popsugar challenge, I tried to pick them from the books I already own. To my own surprise, I got very far with that, though I didn’t have a book for every prompt. Luckily I could borrow a few from my friend (the one who’s also doing the challenge) so that I only have 6 or 7 books left that I need to buy or borrow for this challenge.

TBR jar

Connected to the idea of reading from your own shelf, I recently made a TBR jar. This means I wrote down all of the books in my bookcase that I still want to read (that are on my to-be-read list) on little pieces of paper which I folded up and put in a jar. So if I ever have trouble picking a book to read, I can just get a piece of paper from the jar and read that book. I probably won’t be doing that this year, since I’ve already picked a lot of books for the challenges I’m doing, which means my TBR is pretty much set. So I think I’ll save this one for next year, or until I’m done with my challenges (which is probably the same thing because I’m doing too many challenges). Of course you don’t have to only put books you own in the TBR jar – you can also write down all of the titles you want to read and if you pick one you don’t own, you’ll have to buy it or borrow it from the library. This is a good way to get through you TBR, because you force yourself to read the books you’ve wanted to read for a long time, but never get to. On the other hand, there’s a pretty big chance that you pick a book that doesn’t fit your mood – so if you’re a mood reader, you might want to try something else.

2017 LGBT+ reading challenge

This is a challenge I found on tumblr, created by tumblr user @sweetbookfeels. The aim of the 2017 LGBT+ reading challenge is to read at least 30 books with an LGBT+ main character in 2017. Since I found this one after I already decided to do the Popsugar challenge, I’m not sure how far I’ll get with it, but I’m trying to read as many as I can. I’ve already found several new books and comics through this challenge, so even if I can’t do it properly, it’s serving a purpose. If you’d like to diversify your reading, I definitely recommend this challenge. It’s only got 30 books, so it’s easier to achieve than the Popsugar challenge – even if finding the right books might be a little harder.

Small reading challenges

If all of these challenges sound a little daunting to you, you might enjoy these smaller ones, containing 12 or 13 prompts. You can find them here: Muse Monthly, Uppercase and #justread2017. The prompts are quite similar to the kind used in the Popsugar challenge, so they’re perfect if you liked that one but thought it was too much.

There are plenty of other challenges out there, so please leave a comment if you know of one! I’ve been thinking of starting the Rory Gilmore reading challenge as well, but that’s not exactly the kind of challenge you do in one year.

If you’re participating in any of the challenges mentioned above, let me know if you need/have some good recommendations.

All pictures in this blog post come from the pages I’ve linked to in the text.

Leave a Reply

