Nike (+ March wrap up)

This is a post for my March book challenge, #marchmonthofmythology.

Disclaimer: when I talk about Nike, I mean the Greek goddess and not the brand of sports clothing. Her name is pronounced Nee-kē, not Nye-kee. When I’m tired and/or have read too much Greek, I will read Nike (the sports brand) as Nike (the goddess). I will also sometimes try to read something written in the Latin alphabet as if it were written in the Greek alphabet. These things usually happen around the so-called ‘finals week’. #studentlife #relatable #whyamIusinghashtags

Nike is the winged goddess of victory. She is often found on depictions of historic or mythological victories, crowning whoever won the conflict or just hovering by their side. She also often rides a chariot. Her role is mostly metaphorical and she doesn’t usually appear in myths. Athena is often depicted with Nike close by; supposedly, the lost statue of Athena that once stood in the Parthenon in Athens had a statue of Nike standing in the palm of her hand. This statue of Athena was so big that the much smaller Nike would actually have been about life-size.

Nike – victorious wrap up

IMG_0837.JPG

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Rating: 4 stars. I love the message this essay sends and I think everyone who doesn’t know much about feminism should read it. For me, there wasn’t a lot of new information.

Popsugar 2017 reading challenge: a bestseller from a genre you normally don’t read (the genre being nonfiction).

#justread2017: read a nonfictional book.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 4 stars. I will post a review once I’ve read A Court of Mist and Fury, discussing both books. I was wary of the hype, but my rating already shows I was pleasantly surprised!

Popsugar 2017 reading challenge: the first book in a series you haven’t read before.

Uppercase reading challenge 2017: a retelling.

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien – reread

Rating: 5 stars. This is one of my all-time favourite books. I’m going to post a review in a couple of days!

Popsugar 2017 reading challenge: a book with a subtitle. (The Hobbit, or There and Back Again)

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling – reread

Rating: 4 stars. This used to be my least favourite book in the series because I thought Harry was annoying; now I understand him a lot better, which made the book a lot more fun to read!

Popsugar 2017 reading challenge: a book that’s more than 800 pages. (I was initially reading an edition that had just under 800 pages, but when I traded editions with my friend I got one that had 956 pages! That made my challenge a lot easier…)

3 thoughts on “Nike (+ March wrap up)

Leave a Reply

