Review: Ms. Marvel: No Normal and Saga: Volume One

I’m fairly new to comics, so I’m very glad I found these; both are promising first installments in series that are not too long to catch up on.

Ms. Marvel: No Normal

Goodreads synopsis: Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, Jersey!

My rating: 4 stars.

Review: Once again, I’m so happy I decided to buy this comic. I hope I can get the rest of the series soon. Kamala is an amazing herione: she’s relatable, a geeky teenager who struggles with strict parents and figuring out her identity. Figuring out her newfound powers fits into that perfectly. Then there’s a mysterious villain who hasn’t personally appeared as of yet, referred to as ‘the Inventor’. This plot starts out small, but I have a feeling it’s going to get a lot bigger as more information is revealed in the next installments.

Saga: Volume One

Goodreads synopsis: When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

My rating: 4,5 stars.

Review: This is such a great start to a series, and people are telling me it just gets better. The art  is amazing, the writing is amazing, the world building is amazing. I couldn’t get enough! Due warning, though, that this comic is not suited for younger readers, as it contains various scenes of sex and violence. I may have flipped through a few pages rather quickly while I was reading this on the train… Still, this comic is gritty and real – even if it’s a sci-fi/fantasy – and though the story seems quite straight-forward, there’s a lot going on behind the scenes that caught my interest. I feel like there’s so much left to explore, which means I’m definitely going to get my hands on the rest of this series.

 

Do you read a lot of comic books? Are there any that you recommend?

Leave a Reply

