Seven Deadly Sins book tag

I saw this book tag on themeganerdblog and I immediately wanted to do it. So here goes!

Greed: What is your most inexpensive book? What is your most expensive book?

In the Netherlands we have a Book Week every year, as well as a Children’s Book Week (Boekenweek and Kinderboekenweek). During those weeks, if you spend a certain amount of money on Dutch books (children’s books in the Children’s Book Week), you get a gift book for free. It’s called the Boekenweekgeschenk, meaning Book Week Gift, and it’s written by a different author every year specifically for that Book Week. Long story short, those are the most inexpensive books I own, as they’re always free. The most recent one was Makkelijk leven by Herman Koch.

My most expensive book is Basic Issues in Medieval Philosophy, which I got for a course I ended up not being able to take. I’m taking it this year instead… and they’re not using the book any more. I believe it was €63, which isn’t much if I compare it to some of the books I’ve heard other students have to get, but it was a lot for me. For most courses I do we just have to print a lot of texts and articles and don’t use a book at all.

Wrath: What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

This is a hard one! I think I’m going to go with Catullus, because I absolutely love some of his poems, but others are just a little too vulgar for me. I can kind of see the humour in them, though. I just don’t like translating them in class… Part of the reason I pick Catullus is because he has a poem that fits this question perfectly:

Odi et amo. Quare id faciam fortasse requiris?

Nescio, sed fieri sentio et excrucior.

I hate and I love. Why I do this, you ask perhaps?

I don’t know, but I feel it happening and I am tortured.

— Catullus, Carmen 85, translated by me

Gluttony: What book have you devoured over and over with no shame?

img_7246

The book I’ve read most often is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I think I was about eight or nine years old when my mother and I finished this book, and she wouldn’t read me the next one because it was too scary. So I just kept reading Prisoner of Azkaban, until I decided I couldn’t wait any longer and started reading Goblet of Fire in secret. I was found out, of course, and my mum decided to read it to me anyway (better to do it with me than have me read it alone!).

Sloth: What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

I DNF-ed the Aeneid because I couldn’t get through it – I’m not sure if that counts as laziness. The main reason I avoid books is because I’m not in the right headspace to pay attention to anything too long or complicated, so I save them for the summer when I don’t have anything else to do. This summer I’m planning on tackling The Count of Monte Cristo!

Pride: What book do you talk about in order to sound like an intelligent reader?

img_5771

Anything I’ve read in Latin or Greek… Though I would actually sooner avoid talking about books that make me sound intelligent because I don’t want to sound like I’m bragging! Whenever I say I study classics, people tell me ‘that must be hard’ and ‘oh, you must be very smart’ and I get very embarrassed because it’s just something I’m good at. I mean, I’m smart, but that doesn’t make me better than anyone else and I really don’t want to intimidate anyone! I’m probably the least intimidating person in the world! I’d rather get people interested in the classics than alienating them because they think it’s only for smart people.

Lust: What attributes do you find attractive in characters?

(This said ‘male and female characters’ at first, but I don’t want to exclude non-binary characters (and it seemed like an unnecessary addition anyway).)

Wit! Characters that make witty jokes, talk themselves out of sticky situations and are charming in that ‘I don’t know if I want to punch you or kiss you’ kind of way have always been my weakness (e. g.: Odysseus). Also: kickass characters that are also gentle and kind (or the other way around), characters that are unabashedly weird, and miserable old grumps that are secretly sweet. (You see now why I love Beauty and the Beast tropes – put a kind badass and a secretly sweet grump together and there you have it, I’m in love both of them.)

Envy: What book would you like to receive as a gift?

Listen, I’m already working on my wishlist and my birthday is in October. I take this kind of thing seriously. On the very top of my list is the illustrated Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, which comes out a few days before my birthday. (Make a note, everyone.) Then there are the series I’m collecting, the must-haves, and the editions that are just plain gorgeous (e.g. the Pandora Hearts manga series, The Lord of the Rings, that illustrated version of A Game of Thrones I’ve never actually seen in real life). I will never not know what to ask for my birthday. In fact, the biggest problem is narrowing it down…

If you want to do this tag, feel free – and let me know if you do, so I can read your post! Do you recognise any of the ‘sins’ I mentioned?

2 thoughts on “Seven Deadly Sins book tag

Leave a Reply

