Top 10 songs I listen to for the nostalgia

You know those songs that take you back to the first time(s) you heard them, or the time they played on a special occasion. This isn’t gonna make any sense to anyone but me, but they’re pretty good songs anyway. I think. Most of them.

I tried to put the songs in some kind of order, but with numbers 3 – 5 I struggled a bit, so the order those are in is pretty much random.

10. This Love, Maroon 5

This love has taken its toll on me
She said goodbye too many times before
And her heart is breaking in front of me
I have no choice ’cause I won’t say goodbye anymore, woah, woah, woah

Genre: pop.

In primary school I had a friend who like Maroon 5, and we’d listen to them sometimes at her place. I thought this song was kinda okay, so I acted like I really liked it, and then I started liking it because we had such fun listening to it together. At some point I even got the CD myself, and I still have it. I still don’t know whether I actually like this song, or whether it’s all because of the memories.

9. Girl, Anouk

Girl girl girl
When I hear him talk
Ooh my mind gets blocked girl

Genre: pop.

This song got really popular when I was in primary school, and it was one of the only popular songs (if not the only) that I actually kind of liked. I even have the single CD – and I have no idea where or how I got it.

8. The Show Must Go On, Queen

The show must go on,
The show must go on
Inside my heart is breaking
My make-up may be flaking
But my smile still stays on.

Genre: classick rock.

I remember several times when we went to the zoo on my late grandfather’s birthday. In the car we listened to Queen, because he used to love them. I never really knew my grandfather (I was only a baby when he died), but through my grandmother I feel like I do know him a little. This specific song has another memory attached to it, because a friend of mine sang it at a school thing. There were some mean kids™ from our year sitting in the front rows, preparing to laugh at her and/or make fun of her… and then she blew them away with her amazing voice. (I still feel proud.)

7. Capybara, Shonen Knife

 

Capybara, barabara, capybara
Capybara, barabara, capybara
Capybara, barabara, capybara
Capybara, barabara, capybara

A South American animal popular with everyone
Always eating grass with your ever-growing front teeth

Genre: punk.

The quality of this video isn’t the best, but I picked it because I’m pretty sure I was present at this show! At least I distinctly remember the white-haired guy in front blocking all my pictures… I’ve been to two Shonen Knife concerts and both were frigging amazing. The atmosphere was just so upbeat and happy!

6. One of Us Must Know (Sooner or Later), Bob Dylan

Click to listen.

Sooner or later
One of us must know
That you just did what you were supposed to do

Genre: folk rock.

When I was little and didn’t know English, I enjoyed the sound of this song. Then I forgot about it. Then I got an iPod, and my dad put a lot of music on it, and I recognised the song (and I could finally understand the lyrics).

5. Jenny, The Mountain Goats

And you pointed your headlamp toward the horizon
We were the one thing in the galaxy God didn’t have his eyes on
900 cc’s of raw, whining power, no outstanding warrants for my arrest
Hi diddle dee dee, goddamn, the pirate’s life for me

Genre: alternative/indie.

This is another video from a concert I went to. It was probably the best concert I’ve ever been to; everyone was listening so attentively that at one point, John sang a few lines without using the microphone. He also said we were an amazing audience, which for all I know he says during every concert, but he sounded pretty sincere.

4. Birthday, The Beatles

We see it’s your birthday
Well, it’s my birthday too, yeah
We see it’s your birthday
We’re gonna have good time

Genre: rock.

We would play this song during every birthday breakfast. I can smell scrambled eggs whenever I listen to it.

3. Lithium, Nirvana

I like it, I’m not gonna crack
I miss you, I’m not gonna crack
I love you, I’m not gonna crack
I killed you, I’m not gonna crack

Genre: grunge.

One of the best songs for headbanging and singing along in the car. It makes sitting in the backseat with three annoying little brothers almost seem fun. We had no idea what the song was about. (Until one of my brothers became a Nirvana fan and asked my dad a lot of questions.)

2. Blitzkrieg Bop, The Ramones

Hey ho, lets go
hey ho, lets go
hey ho, lets go
hey ho, lets go

They’re forming in straight line
They’re going through a tight wind
The kids are losing their minds
The blitzkrieg bop

Genre: punk.

I think the first words I ever spoke in English might be ‘hey ho, let’s go’. I remember shouting it while jumping on the bed and possibly headbanging when I was very little.

 

 

 

1. Seven Nation Army, The White Stripes

I’m gonna fight ’em off. A seven nation army couldn’t hold me back
They’re gonna rip it off
Taking their time right behind my back

Genre: alternative/indie.

When I turned twelve, I got an MP3 player. It was the first time I could listen to music by myself, for myself (apart from a few CDs – that felt different somehow). It was the first time I really listened to the music, most of which I’d heard a dozen times in the living room when my parents played it. Seven Nation Army became my favourite song, The White Stripes became my favourite band. This is the only song I can play on my guitar without looking at the chords first.

 

Are there any songs that have a special meaning to you, or have certain memories connected to them? I would love to hear about them in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Top 10 songs I listen to for the nostalgia

Leave a Reply

