Elf Fantasy Fair

Last Sunday, I went to the Elf Fantasy Fair, also known as Elfia. Every April, this event is held at Castle de Haar, a castle near Utrecht. It’s also held in September, in Arcen. There are stands selling everything from swords to books to clothes, there are bands, workshops, fotoshoots, LARPers – too much to name. And the best of all: almost everyone is in cosplay!

I go to the Elf Fantasy Fair at Castle de Haar every year with a group of friends. We always pick a theme for our cosplays. This year we did Harry Potter, so naturally I went as Hermione. For a low-budget, no-sewing and only-some-assembly-required cosplay, I think it worked out pretty well. I admire the people who create elaborate, detailed cosplays by themselves (and I love watching those costumes at the Fair), but for me it’s fun enough to gather a simple costume as best as I can. And they do get a little better every year!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the best things about Elfia is people watching – or rather, costume watching. You can see some highlights in the slideshow above. The care these people put into their costumes is amazing! The atmosphere is also very special. I don’t think anyone would decline if you asked to take a picture of them – it’s never happened to me at least. If your costume is recognisable enough, expect people to randomly shout the character’s name at you. A lot.

Now, for some of the things I did at the Fair (and a better look at my costume). As you can see, I HELD AN OWL. That was definitely the highlight of my day. Of my life, even. (I love owls.) I also met ‘Dutch Dumbledore’ (look him up on facebook or instagram!). I think he also cosplays Gandalf sometimes, and he’s at the Fair every year, taking pictures with everyone and occasionally giving out hugs.

Of course we also visited a lot of stalls. I bought three books (because of course) and

IMG_2648

Chirrut and Baze are the Pops I bought at the Fair!

two Funko Pops. The books were A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan, Sourcery by Terry Pratchett, and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story by Alexander Freed (I wasn’t planning on buying that one, but the hardcover was cheaper than the paperback – what was I supposed to do?).

As always, the Elf Fantasy Fair was an amazing, but exhausting experience. I’m already looking forward to next year. We’ve got our theme picked out – Lord of the Rings. Time to slowly collect items for my costume (I’ll be going as Merry).

Do you cosplay and/or go to cosplay events or conventions? Maybe you’ve been to Elfia? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Elf Fantasy Fair

Leave a Reply

