The Mystery Blogger Award

A while ago the amazing Kendall (The Geeky Yogi) nominated me for the Mystery Blogger Award. Thank you so much! I feel honoured (and that’s not an exaggeration). Everyone, check out Kendall’s blog, and instagram too while you’re at it.

mystery-blogger-awardThe Mystery Blogger Award is an award that was created by Okoto Enigma. It is, and I’m quoting here, ‘meant to be awarded to amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. These bloggers have blogs that captivate, motivate and inspire others, it’s an award for people who have fun with their blogging, they are passionate about it, and these bloggers deserve to be recognized for what they do.’ I can’t help but smile when I read this. I’m so happy to have been nominated!

The rules of the Mystery Blogger Award:

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  3. Mention the creator of the award and provide a link.
  4. Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.
  5. Answer 5 questions from the nominee.
  6. Nominate bloggers.
  7. Notify your nominees by leaving a comment on their blog.
  8. Ask your nominees 5 questions of your choice, including 1 weird or funny question.
  9. Share a link to your best post.

3 Things About Myself

  1. I can’t remember not being able to read. As a toddler I would point at things and ask what they were, and my mother would often spell out words or say what the first letter of something was. Some of the things I pointed at were words and letters. I could write my own name when I was two and improved from there, until I could read pretty much perfectly at five. It’s always been my greatest hobby!
  2. I learned to read books in English through Roald Dahl: first Fantastic Mr. Fox and then Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. (After that I read The Wizard of Oz; those happened to be the children’s books my parents owned in English.) Later I taught my youngest brother English by reading the same books with him!
  3. I had two reasons to go to the gymnasium (not a gym; it’s what we call grammar school in the Netherlands): 1) I wanted to get the best and hardest education possible (because school had always been too easy for me); 2) I wanted to learn Latin and Greek because I loved Greek mythology and I wanted to read the Iliad and Odyssey in their original language! I never suspected I would end up studying the languages and cultures at university, however, because back then I wanted to study astrophysics.

TheGeekyYogi’s questions

1. What motivates you to keep up with your blog?

Ever since I started my bookstagram, I felt like I had even more to say about books than I could fit into my posts there. So I decided to put those thoughts on my blog! Sometimes it’s hard to get myself to work on it, and sometimes I’m stretched for time. For that reason I’ve decided to post once a week from now on, instead of twice a week as I did before. But I’ll keep blogging to get my thoughts out! Likes and comments motivate me to an extent, and it’s especially amazing to hear that someone is happy or even grateful that I wrote posts about a certain topic, but in the end I think I would keep blogging even if no one read my posts.

2. Do you have any tips or tricks for new bloggers?

I’d say first of all not to worry about views, likes, comments, etc. (Especially if you come from bookstagram; blogs grow much slower than instagram pages.) Just write what you like to write. Worrying about whether everyone else will like it won’t improve the quality! If you’re planning to post regularly, it’s best to make up a schedule and write your posts in advance. That way you won’t be in trouble if you run out of time unexpectedly, or if you just don’t feel like writing.

3. If you had to pick ONE book to call your favorite, what would it be and why?

I always answer this question with Alice in Wonderland. When I read it in English for the first time (I think my parents had read me the Dutch translation before, but I didn’t remember much), I was amazed. The wit, the absurdity, I loved every bit of it. I haven’t reread it since, so I feel like a reread is due. Just to check if it really still is my favourite book.

4. What’s your favorite ice cream?

Why must you torment me with this impossible question??! I love ice cream. I can’t pick one flavour! My favourite flavour at the ice cream parlour I always go to in Nijmegen (Vincenzo) is pistachio. It’s a flavour not everyone gets right, but this one is so good. I also love raspberry, mango, mocha and hazelnut. And of course you can’t go wrong with chocolate. I also love the macadamia & caramel ice cream from Australian. What’s also great is home-made ice cream. One time I made vanilla ice cream with some lemon zest in it, and lemon marmalade swirled through it. So. Good.

Can you believe that when I was little I only ever picked chocolate and vanilla when we went to get ice cream? (Though I was never picky about Ben & Jerry’s from the supermarket. One time I had eczema and my parents (jokingly?) said I might be allergic to chocolate or milk and the first thought I had was I could never eat Phish Food again!)

5. If you could choose one bookish world to live in, which one would it be and why?

I always go straight for Harry Potter, with the condition that Voldemort is dead by the time I get to Hogwarts. Which, considering my age, would have been the case. So all’s good. I’d just be a regular student, doing my classes, doing magic, having an owl for a pet… (Twenty-two years old and still dreaming of that letter…)

I nominate…

Andy (Andy’s Wonderland)

Alex (Alex Reads Books)

Holly and Corey (The Grimdragons)

Eline (Eline schrijft hier)

Kevin (sumptuousbooks)

My 5 questions

  1. What made you decide to join the online book blogging community (with whatever medium you used first, instagram, tumblr, wordpress, etc.)?
  2. Is there something specific you wish to see (more) in books published in the future? How far would you go to see that change? (E.g. would you write/publish a book, boost indie writers, wait and hope for the best, etc.?)
  3. What is the weirdest book you’ve ever read (and was it good weird or bad weird)?
  4. If you were to be a character in a book, what genre would you like the book to be (be as specific as you like)?
  5. What is your favourite book written in another language than English (and why)?

My best post

The post with the most views is my March book challenge, but after that comes a post I think deserves them more: On problematic books. I was very anxious about posting it, because it was so hard to find the right words and yet it was so important to me to say something on the topic. I was incredibly relieved and happy when I got several positive messages about it. Another post I’m really proud of is Medea, because it contains some of my creative writing (which was hard to post for similar, yet very different reasons).

2 thoughts on “The Mystery Blogger Award

  1. Thanks for nominating me. I love your answers to the questions. I love hazelnut ice cream too. And yes your post about problematic books was really good. Thanks again. I’m felling honoured. Can’t wait to answer the questions ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

