#sumtbreadathon TBR

Are you joining the #sumtbreadathon this month? It’s a month long readathon I’m hosting with several other bookstagrammers. Click here to read more!

I’m starting this readathon with a TBR. I’m not really the kind of person to plan all my reading in advance (even though I plan pretty much everything else in advance), but I had a pretty clear image of the books I wanted to read this summer. I’ve decided to make a huge TBR that I’m probably not going to complete, just for the sake of setting an ambitious goal. If I don’t read all the books, well, I’ll get to them in August or even later. If I do, then that’s awesome!

(Some of the books are rereads, but rereads are part of my TBR just like new books. Sometimes you just have to reread a book! As long as I’ve wanted to reread a book for a (long) while, I consider it a part of my TBR.)

IMG_4543.JPG

So let’s get to it. I divided my TBR in a couple of sections, because I’m like that.

1. The Magic Book Club

Three other bookstagrammers and I host a bookclub on instagram called The Magic Book Club. We’re reading a few short books to finish up our Harry Potter readalong, so I’ve already got six books set! Feel free to join us in our weekly discussions.

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander, J. K. Rowling
  • Quidditch Through the Ages by Kennilworthy Whisp, J. K. Rowling
  • The Tales of Beedle the Bard, J. K. Rowling
  • Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide, J. K. Rowling
  • Short Stories from Hogwarts: Of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists, J. K. Rowling
  • Short Stories from Hogwarts: Of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies, J. K. Rowling

2. Other books I definitely want to read

These are the other books I’m hoping to get through this month. It’s pretty ambitious… and this isn’t even the last section.

  • Ruin and Rising, Leigh Bardugo (the current read I still have to finish)
  • The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, Becky Chambers (reread before reading the sequel)
  • A Closed and Common Orbit, Becky Chambers (the sequel to TLWtaSAP)
  • The Golden Compass, Philip Pullman (I’m buddy reading His Dark Materials with Erin and I’d like to finish the first book and at least make a start in the second this month)
  • Johannes Cabal: The Detective, Jonathan L. Howard (I’m borrowing this one from a friend and her father would like to read this series as well, so I pushed it up on my TBR)
  • Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute, Jonathan L. Howard (idem)
  • Stancliffe’s Hotel, Charlotte Brontë (my pick for #justread2017: a book that takes place in a hotel)
  • The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas (don’t panic! I don’t actually want to finish this book this month, but I definitely want to start it and finish it in August – I borrowed this one from the same friend and she wants to reread it in September)

3. Books I might read if I have the time

If I, by some miracle, manage to read all of the books above (except for The Count of Monte Cristo), these are the books I’ll read next.

  • The Silmarillion, J. R. R. Tolkien (another one I borrowed from that friend)
  • Queens of Geek, Jen Wilde (July/August book pick for the book club of Notre-Dame)
  • Wonder Women, Sam Maggs
  • George, Alex Gino
  • Here, the World Entire, Anwen Kya Hayward

So, what do you think? I’m just going to see how well I do. At least I know I’ve got a lot of fun reads ahead of me!

Wondering what the other hosts of the #sumtbreadathon are reading? Here’s a list of links to their own TBR posts! (I will add some of them later, as they are published.)

How many books do you think you’re going to read this month? (How many books do you think I’ll end up reading? There are no prizes for the right answer except maybe a virtual high-five.)

Leave a Reply

